MIDAS in Standardisation

We propose to be involved at standardization committees in order to maximize the use of standards and promote their creation from the project results. In particular, the MIDAS partners will be involved in European standardization initiatives, carried out by key standardization institutions.

MIDAS has been presented in the following standardization committees:

As a result, MIDAS has been involved in the following standards:

  •  OMG’s PSM level specification of RLUS, hData, IXS and CTS2 services.
  •  UML Testing Profile
  •  UML 2.5
  •  STF 370: Standardization of new methodology and framework for Automated Interoperability Testing of Distributed Systems
  •  STF 442: Standardized test development with Model-Based Testing (MBT)
  •  STF 446: TTCN-3 evolution – continuation in 2012 (04/12 – 03/13)
  •  STF 445:  Transition of Conformance Test specification on use of Session Initiation Protocol    (SIP) and Session Description Protocol (SDP) in IMS core networks to 3GPP Release 10
  •  STF 446: TTCN-3 evolution 2012
  •  STF 450: Validation of the Conformance Test Specifications for the Diameter Protocol over the Rx and Gx reference points
  •  STF 453: Update of IMS NNI and IMS&EPC Test Specifications to 3GPP R10 and RCS 5.0
  •  STF 454: Design of the Test Description Language (TDL)
  •  STF 460: TTCN-3 Evolution 2013

A preliminary list of standardization committees is shown as follow:

  • Comitee: ETSI – European Telecommunication Standardization Institut
  • Website: http://www.etsi.org/
  • Description: ETSI produces globally-applicable standards for Information and Communications Technologies (ICT), including fixed, mobile, radio, converged, broadcast and internet technologies. It is officially recognized by the European Union as a European Standards Organization. The high quality of our work and our open approach to standardization has helped us evolve into a European roots – global branches operation with a solid reputation for technical excellence. It is a not-for-profit organization with more than 700 ETSI member organizations drawn from 62 countries across 5 continents world-wide.

  • Comitee: ETSI MTS – ETSI Methods for Testing and Specification
  • Website: http://portal.etsi.org/mbs
  • Description: ETSI’s Methods for Testing and Specification Technical Committee (TC MTS) creates standards related to testing and specification languages, and provides frameworks and methodologies to enable the other ETSI committees to achieve this goal. TC MTS has developed numerous methodologies and testing frameworks and provides guidelines for standards engineering. A specific example of the latter is our “Making Better Standards” website (http://portal.etsi.org/mbs/). Model-based testing is another testing technique that has gained increasing attention. Model based testing has already proven itself in industry as a mature testing technology that leads to significant increase of productivity. It can also provide implementers of standards access to much wider test sets. TC MTS is focusing on promoting the deployment and adaptation of this technology to the needs of standardization and thereby to consolidate ETSI’s reputation as a leader of test and specification methods.

  • Comitee: HL-7 – Health Level Seven
  • Website: http://www.hl7.org/
  • Description: Health Level Seven International (HL7) is the global authority on standards for interoperability of health information technology with members in over 55 countries.
    Founded in 1987, Health Level Seven International (HL7) is a not-for-profit, ANSI-accredited standards developing organization dedicated to providing a comprehensive framework and related standards for the exchange, integration, sharing, and retrieval of electronic health information that supports clinical practice and the management, delivery and evaluation of health services. HL7’s 2,300+ members include approximately 500 corporate members who represent more than 90% of the information systems vendors serving healthcare.

  • Comitee: IHE – Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise
  • Website: http://www.ihe.net/
  • Description: IHE is an initiative by healthcare professionals and industry to improve the way computer systems in healthcare share information. IHE promotes the coordinated use of established standards such as DICOM and HL7 to address specific clinical need in support of optimal patient care. Systems developed in accordance with IHE communicate with one another better, are easier to implement, and enable care providers to use information more effectively.

  • Comitee: ISO-IEC / JTC1 / SC 7 WG 19 – Systems and Software Engineering
  • Website: http://www.iso.org/
  • Description: It is a technical committee of the International Organization for Standardization. It covers the standardization of processes, methods and supporting technologies for the engineering and management of software and systems throughout their life cycles.

  • Comitee: OGF – Open Grid Forum
  • Website: http://www.gridforum.org/
  • Description: OGF is an open community committed to driving the rapid evolution and adoption of applied distributed computing. Applied Distributed Computing is critical to developing new, innovative and scalable applications and infrastructures that are essential to productivity in the enterprise and within the science community. OGF accomplishes its work through open forums that build the community, explore trends, share best practices and consolidate these best practices into standards.

  • Comitee: OMG – Object Management Group
  • Website: http://www.omg.org/
  • Description: OMG™, founded in 1989, is an international, open membership, not-for-profit computer industry consortium with more than 500 members worldwide, including government agencies, small and large IT users, vendors and research institutions. OMG is most known for our standards development work. OMG Task Forces develop enterprise integration standards for a wide range of technologies, including: Real-time, Embedded and Specialized Systems, Analysis and Design, Architecture-Driven Modernization and Middleware; and for more than two-dozen vertical industries, including: Business Modeling and Integration, C4I for Military and Crisis Response, Finance, Government, Healthcare, Regulatory Compliance, Life Sciences Research, Knowledge Management, Software Assurance, Manufacturing Technology, Robotics, Software-Based Communications and Space. Over time, OMG has evolved to meet the changing business needs of Information Technology by playing a strong role as a builder of practitioner-driven Communities of Practice focused on Green/Sustainability, Service Oriented Architecture, BPM, Cyber Security and Event Processing, while staying true to its standards development roots.
    In particular the project plans to contribute to SoaML and UTP standardization.

  • Comitee: SCC – Supply Chain Council
  • Website: http://supply-chain.org/
  • Description: SCC is a global nonprofit organization whose framework, improvement methodology, training, certification and benchmarking tools help member organizations make dramatic, rapid, and sustainable improvements in supply chain performance.